Monday, June 1, 2009

Midtown-Hutch's takes OBRA Men's TTT crown, Therapeutic Associates tops women's field

CORVALLIS -- It took a little Masters power Sunday to finally unseat the Land Rover-ORBEA squad's month-long domination of the senior men's top podium rung.

The four-man Midtown Direct/Hutch's-OIC squad of Paul Bourcier (40), Robert English (44), Galen Mitterman (28) and Nick Skenzick (30) covered the 28-mile course in 56 minutes, 40 seconds to take the Senior Men's crown and set the fastest overall pace of the day.

The Land Rover-ORBEA "Kiwi" team of Logan Hunn, Mike Northey, Aaron Tuckerman and Roman Van Uden had to settle for second on the day, crossing the line 11 seconds slower at 0:56:51.

The ZteaM Masters powerhouse of Mick Walsh, Clint Chase, Matt Slater and Karsten Hagen set the third fastest time of the day at 0:57:15, good enough to easily win the Masters 160-199 event. The HP Chiropractic/Hammer Nutrition team of Aaron Coker, Seth Hosmer, Jason Riffle and Kyle Valenta finished fourth on the day at 0:57:26.

The Land Rover-ORBEA "USA" group of Bobby Sweeting, Jim Camut, Josh Bartlett and Carson Miller settled for the eighth best time on the day at 0:59:08, possibly still recovering from Saturday's effort when Sweeting, Camut and Bartlett swept the OBRA Road Race Championship podium.

Therapeutic Associates/GENR8 Cycling Team's Pamela Archer, Karey Miles, Jill Howe and Lisa Turnbull took the top spot in the Senior Women's event, covering the 28 miles in 1:06:27. The Gentle Lovers squad of Joanna Mensher, Sirkit Valentin, Erin Plomin and Dawn Riddle set the second fastest women's time of the day at 1:08:06. The Cat. 3 team of Sile Kiernan, Martha Brown, Audrey Baldessari and Allison Howard set the third fastest women's time at 1:08:55.

OBRA Team Time Trial Champions
May 31, Corvallis

Junior Women
1. Carolyn Cartwright, Liz Cartwright, Fiona Graham 1:45:18.
Junior Men
1.Dan Birman, Joe Prettyman Lance Pugh, George Zack (BBC) 1:07:36.
Masters Men 160-199
1. Mick Walsh, Clint Chase, Matt Slater, Karsten Hagen (ZteaM) 0:57:15
Masters Men 200-239
1. Steven Holland, George Shrek, Ivan Meadors, Rob Annen (Finnegan's Toys/Discover Chiro) 1:00:26.
Masters Men 240+
1. Dave Russell, Michale manning, Lance Brigman, Greg Hartman (Three Rivers Racing) 1:04:08
Men Cat. 3
1. Ron Babcock, John banks, Steve Brown, Todd Rosier (Portland Velo) 0:58:30.
Men Cat. 4/5
1. Sean Bagshaw, Ian Bagshaw, Cory Longiotti, Jason Peters (Flywheel) 1:01:38.
Senior Men
1. Paul Bourcier, Robert English, Galen Mittermann, Nick Skenzick, (Midtown Direct\Hutch's OIC) 0:56:40
Senior Women
1. Pamela Archer, Karey Miles, Jill Howe, Lisa Turnbull (Therapeutic Associates/Genr8 Cycling) 1:06:27
Masters Women 160-199
1. Anne Linton, Kim Reuter, Rhonda Marin, Colleen McClenahan (Sorella Forte) 1:11:48
Women Masters 200-240
1. Debra Windus, Barb Thiele, Pam Reid, Renata Hahn (Team Rose City) 1:14:27
Women Cat. 3
1. Sile Kiernan, Martha Brown, Audrey Baldessari, Allison Howard ( 1:08:55
Women Cat. 4
1. Sunny Gilbert, Gretchen Landis, Heather Paris, Brenda Spinney (Pacific Power Blue Sky) 1:09:04