Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Registration For SSWC '09 Closes Friday

Registration for the 2009 Single Speed World Championships closes this week.

The race will take place Sept. 19 in Durango, Colorado. The SSWC, not to be confused with the SSCXWC (single speed cyclocross world championships) held this year in Portland, began in 1995 in Big Bear, California. Past winners include Marla Streb, Travis Brown, Kelli Emmett and Adam Craig.

Registration information and forms are HERE.

Monday, January 19, 2009

OBRA Announces 2009 Oregon Cup Schedule

The last race of the Banana Belt series will kick off the Oregon Bicycle Racing Association's 2009 Oregon Cup.

After opening at Hagg Lake with Banana Belt #3 on March 15, the series will head south for the King's Valley Road Race and the Table Rock Road Race before visiting Portland for the Mt. Tabor Circuit Race May 16. The series continues the very next day with the Silverton Road Race. The May 30 Rehearsal Road Race and the July 12 High Desert Omnium Road Race complete the series. OBRA's Oregon Cup Committee released the schedule last week.

The Oregon Cup has two divisions: Senior 1/2 Men and Senior 1/2/3 Women. Points are awarded to the top 20 finishers in each race, with 100 points awarded for first and 10 points for 20th. There is no minimum number of races to qualify for the overall.


Banana Belt Road Race III -- March 15,
King's Valley Road Race -- April 11
Table Rock Road Race -- April 19
Mt. Tabor Circuit Race -- May 16
Silverton Road Race -- May 17
Rehearsal Road Race -- May 30
High Desert Omnium Road Race -- July 12