Friday, May 1, 2009

ZteaM makes hay at Hood River Crit Series finale

(UPDATE, 3:45 p.m.: Complete criterium photo galleries are now posted online HERE).

HOOD RIVER -- ZteaM's Matthew Slater escaped from the lead group of a split Cat 1/2/3 field late in the race and held off a furious last-lap chase by Guiness Cycling's Ben Miller to take the Hood River Criterium Series finale Thursday night.

Slater started the fireworks early with a solo move after countering an attack by Gentle Lovers' Steven Beardsley. He was soon joined at the front by Andy Skeen (ABD), and the pair stayed away for several laps before the first half of the split field pulled them back in the closing laps.

Slater rested briefly in the field and then jumped on a move by Spencer Bushnell (Therapeutic Associates). The pair held a small gap for three laps with chasers slowly whittling away at their lead by the finale. That's when Miller attacked the chase group on the final lap as Bushnell, who had supplied most of the power for the move with Slater, faded. Miller, followed closely by Adam Blanchard (Therapeutic Associates), closed to within inches of Slater by the finish, but the ZteaM rider won by a bike throw. Bushnell held on for third, and Blanchard was fourth.

ZteaM also won the special combined Masters race, sending Michael Dunn up the road with Kent Johnston (Fred Meyer/Lakeside) early in the 35-minute event. The two riders worked well together and dangled off the front of the field, which never seemed to muster an extended, organized chase. Dunn held off Johnston at the line to take the win. Peter Drake (Fred Meyer/Lakeside) took the field sprint for third.


Senior Men Cat 1/2/3
1. Slater, Matthew (ZteaM)
2. Miller, Benjamin (Guinness Cycling)
3. Bushnell, Spencer (Therapeutic Associates)
4. Blanchard, Adam (Therapeutic Associates)
5. Collura, Sal (Springfield VELO Television)

Masters 40+
1. Dunn, Michael (ZteaM)
2. Johnston, Kent (Fred Meyer/Lakeside Cycling Team)
3. Drake, Peter (Fred Meyer/Lakeside Cycling Team)
4. Slater, Matthew (ZteaM)
5. Lujan, Michael (Specialized River City Bicycles)

Masters 50+
1. Desmond, Richard (Team Oregon)
2. Provencher Darell (Team Rose City)
3. Murray Mike (Gresham Bike Central)
4. Mautner Paul (Portland Team Rose City)
5. Mallon, Cary (Sandy Disco Velo)

Masters 60+
1. Magnus, Ron (Fred Meyer/Lakeside Cycling Team)
2. Hanson, Don (ZteaM)

1. Swearingen, Julie (Mountain View Cycles)
2. Wardell, Jennifer (Mountain View Cycles)
3. Richardson, Judy (Sorella Forte)
4. Nobbs, Cassie (Athletes for a Cure)
5. Mautner, Meg (Portland Bike Central)

1. Mikkelson, Zachary (Mountain View Cycles)
2. Alling, Austin (Portland Fred Meyer/Lakeside Cycling Team)

Senior Men Cat. 3/4
1. Holcomb Joseph (Specialized River City Bicycles)
2. Schauer, Tim (Specialized River City Bicycles)
3. Swearingen, Wes (Mountain View Cycles)
4. Parra, Greg (Team Oregon/Sunset Cycles)
5. Simon, Tom (Specialized River City Bicycles)

Senior Men Cat 4/5
1. Hayes, Andrew (Mountain View Cycles)
2. Weaver, Benjamin (Team Oregon)
3. Olsson, Andy (Dirty Finger)
4. Aldersebaes, Dave (Ironclad Performance Wear)
5. Irusta, Joseba (Scott's Cycle & Sports)